Daily Archives: July 31, 2008

Here’s a depressing opinion piece

The Wall Street Journal asks, Is John McCain Stupid?. The author concludes that he is. I’m sorry to say I agree. It probably doesn’t matter, now that Obama is already fitting himself out for the dollar bill but it does seem a shame that we’ve ended up with a choice between a moron and a megalomaniac. of course, I have many friends in town who would respond, ‘we’ve done the dolt, let’s try the preening ward heeler.” Fair enough, but I think we’re heading for (more) trouble.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Here’s a good value


8 Mansion Place is in the King Merit development off of King Street in western Greenwich. Not one of our most expensive neighborhoods but that means you can still get over an acre of land (1.19, in this case) and a nice house for far less than the average run-down Riverside house will cost you. This house, added to and renovated in 2005, has a ton of bedrooms, a really nice yard and a knock-you-dead solarium/family room all for just $1,499,000, down from its original June asking price of $1,699,000. Disclosure: it’s a Raveis listing but long-term readers know I’ve never let that sort of thing affect my calling a house a good (or a bad) buy and I’m not doing that now. In a better market, I think the original price would have moved this place. Its current price is better still and, if the alacrity with which the seller has adjusted her price is any indication, i think you might be able to nibble away at the price even more. Unprepossessing from the front – it looks like the plain old ranch that it once was, this is one worth seeing, if you can adjust to or want to live out west. No highway noise, either, which is not the case in some houses over here. A very nice house, and one I liked a lot.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Cheesey or sleazy?


The 12 hour parking slots at Town Hall give you 2 hours for a quarter – a nice price if you need to park for awhile. But take a look at these meters and see whether you can tell how much time is left on the meter. I usually can’t, which means that, even if I find an unexpired meter, I still have to slip in a quarter to ensure I don’t get a $15.00 ticket. I don’t know whether the scratches and condensation that prevent a reading are deliberate or just the result of poor maintenance, but it’s annoying either way.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Going Down?


A few months ago I would have gagged at this price but now it’s an encouraging signal, I hope, of where the gasoline market is heading – 20¢ less than yesterday! (Taken in Cos Cob at 6:56 this morning)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized