Twisting in the wind

A house showed up today with a new, lower price and because I’ve seen it for sale seemingly forever I thought I’d look up its history. Interesting. Built in 1996, it was put up for sale in 1998 for $1.2. It didn’t sell and the builder either moved in or rented it out for awhile and then brought it back in 2003 at $2.475. That didn’t fly so he gradually dropped the price to $1.950 but it expired unsold in 2004. After another hiatus he tried again last year and it’s been for sale ever since, starting at $2.5 and now down to just about $2 million. According to the town, it was worth $2.1 million in 2005, so today’s value would be, if you play the game I’ve been playing with these numbers, 70 % of that, or $1.470,000. That seems about right to me – I hope the owner perseveres this time and finally sells the place because I’m curious to see how the 70% rule works out on this one.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Twisting in the wind

  1. Vicky

    Given the absence of urgency over the full decade (!) you chronicle here, it’s hard to believe the builder/owner is going to cry uncle now, unless he has problems with other ventures … which would be interesting to know! In the mean time, how ’bout a photo and address?