I’ve said it before: the rebellion starts when they take way our light bulbs

Germans go nuts as incandescent bulbs disappear from store shelves. The Germans are an orderly people, Americans less so, and when Americans realize that Congress has foisted this crap product on us, rendering recessed lighting useless and exposing us to $40 bulbs that require hazmat teams to dispose of, they’re finally going to understand what’s wrong with a powerful, centralized government. Or that’s my hope, anyway.

In the meantime, EU officials profess not to be concerned.

“You can . . . look at it the same way that you’re looking at improvements of washing machines and fridges, where consumers don’t even notice that the fridges [have] become more efficient,” said Andras Toth, a policy officer in the EU’s energy directorate.

The difference, Andras, is that efficient washing machines and refrigerators work better than the appliances they’re replacing. CFLs do not – they are the next low-water toilet, only far, far worse.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “I’ve said it before: the rebellion starts when they take way our light bulbs

  1. anony-moose

    The CFLs are at best a transitional technology, IMO, which is why I don’t approve of heavy-handed attempts to legislate incandescents out of existence. This is coming from someone who has mostly CFLs in my house.

    Eventually, LED-based solutions may turn into a nicer alternative to incandescents, but for now they’re far too costly. But given time, CFLs will mostly go the way of the dinosaur.

  2. Martha

    Oh my goodness, I could really rant about this. My mother in law (Swedish) insists that we “must” use (ie, the gov’t is outlawing the others) those new/useless bulbs. She also insists it will happen in USA too. It drives me insane. We live at 59 degrees north, same as Anchorage, and it’s damned dark up here. One cannot function with those low watt bulbs!

    And, the “new improved” washing machines. Argh! They do not get your clothing clean unless you run the 2 1/2 hour program on scorching hot…which just does not work for many items.

    What a way to start my Monday morning, I cannot wait to get home!:-)

  3. DB

    I’ve been using CFL’s for 5 years now and almost exclusively. The 100 and 120 watt equivalents are damn bright, but as with all CFL’s, as time goes on they dim, unlike standard bulbs which just blow out.

    I also have dimmer CFL’s (designed for recessed) which work well also, but will not go down to the level of standard bulbs. I use them because they save energy, and have had 0 issues, other then fact certain recessed light fixtures I own have no cheap dimmer CFL bulbs yet.

    In the case of the high efficiency washing/drying machines, I have an LG model which does both and costs a fraction of what a standard washer and dryer will use in electricity (water is removed by condensation, so it is a closed loop when drying). Put clothes in before going to bed and done in the morning. Need to make some adjustments when it comes to drying time (longer) and make sure to clean out lint, but it cleans better then any I have ever used and kicks on the perm press cycle.

    When visiting other countries, always amazes me how behind we are when it comes to electrical conservation. Maybe a government mandate isn’t the way to push things along; the other option is just let energy pricing climb till consumers do it all on their own.

    • christopherfountain

      DB, Italy has, due to the EU, adopted cfls and I hated them – hated them! But I agree with your proposal that we let the market place do the job. Most people want to save money and I, at least, don’t like to waste anything, energy, money, etc., but I want a better product not an inferior one.

  4. DB

    One really good thing about CFL’s in recessed lighting is that since they produce little heat, insulating the lighting fixtures is easy.

  5. Cobra

    On the way home this afternoon, I’ll stop at Home Depot and stock up on incandescent bulbs to add to my already copious stash.

    Then on to Bob’s for a few more boxes of .357, .45ACP, and .44 mag. I have 9mm and 5.56mm well covered as I loaded up once Obummer was nominated.

    Don’t want to be caught unprepared when the defication hits the rotation. And when it does, Chris, you can come over and hang out in our reinforced concrete bunker for a bit. I might even give, not trade, you a bulb or two just for old time sake.

    • christopherfountain

      Fuuny coincidence, Cobra – I stopped by Bob’s on Saturday and loaded up on .270 and 7.mm mag for my rifles, buckshot and sabots for my guns, and a ton of .45 for my auto. I’d be set for awhile but Gideon and I went over to Cos Cob Rifle and Revolver and I used up the .45 stuff (but I’m glad to know I can still blast bullseyes at 75′). So it’s back to Bobs – if he were smart, he’d start stiocking incansecent bulbs, too. One stop shopping.

  6. KC

    CF has me worried about the lightbulbs so when they’re on the sale, I’m buying (not thirty years though!) I didn’t even know about that until I read your blog. But if the power goes out, it doesn’t matter what you put in the lamp. I see Cobra and Chris have realized that and are going to the next level.

  7. pulled up in OG

    You think it’s easy finding the club in the dark?

    Police charge 2 after shots fired in town park
    http://www.greenwichtime.com/ci_13597167

    • christopherfountain

      Yeah, that was Cobra and me (names changed, eh?). Advice to even licensed gun owners – don’t go into the woods at night with drunken friends and a 0.9mm. A fool and his pistol are soon parted.

  8. networthdeclining

    I find I need double or triple the number of lamps in a room to be able to see or read or entertain as with incandescent bulbs. Is it really cost effective?