In the WSJ: an appreciation of White & Strunk’s “The Elements of Style”

It’s been in print fifty years and still going strong. I loved it, tried hard to use its advice and have given copies of “the little book” to my own children. Come to think of it, I’m going to order more copies from Amazon and give them to them again. It’s obvious I’m no E.B. White, but this short, simple book improved my writing when I first encountered it in high school and has (usually) kept me from committing long, flowery sentences. If your own kids don’t have a copy, I’d recommend it to anyone over 12. I also recommend it to anyone in business who’d like to write clearly and concisely. Don’t blame the book for my own failures in that regard – just imagine how bad I’d be had I never read it.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “In the WSJ: an appreciation of White & Strunk’s “The Elements of Style”

  1. Anonymous

    Suspect communication in any lucrative business today is a matter of clever, brief bulletpoints/graphs in Powerpoint presentations and real-time Berry messages

    Probably more useful to give kids a few examples of recent, well-developed investment banking pitchbooks or Board presentations…or hedge fund letters to investors

  2. pulled up in OG

    It’s more fun reading the indictments, Anon.

    No style here – no table of contents, nuttin’, but a whole lot of it.

    List of exhibits [536] for Investigation of Failure of the SEC to Uncover Bernard Madoff’s Ponzi Scheme

    http://www.sec.gov/news/studies/2009/oig-509/oig-509_exhibits.htm

  3. Sunshine Boy

    you’re right about strunk&white but speaking of grammar and print, how come you never noticed Hearst fired Greenwich Time Managing editor Bruce Hunter for a SECOND time ?

    • christopherfountain

      I’m pretty sure I mentioned that, but really, rats leaving a sinking ship are expected, rather than unusual. Someone joining GT – that would be news.