Sales data

I’ve got a permanent link to the site over on the right under “Useful Links”, “Greenwich Sales Data”, but if you haven’t seen it, check out Raveis’s statistic pages. Quite informative and I can promise you, no salesman will call. Besides, would I steer you away to a competitor? Good data.

UPDATE: Raveis also has an excellent mapping tool, showing homes for sale (not just theirs), distance to schools, train, highways, etc., and lots of other good stuff, if you play around with it. It’s a rainy day, go for it!

UPDATE II – Retired IB’R asks whether the data is massaged – it isn’t; even if I no longer work for Bill Raveis I still respect and like him – always have, and he has worked hard at producing useful, accurate data because of his vision that the future of realtors lies in being a dispenser of information, not its gatekeeper. But I notice some houses aren’t listed – that’s not Raveis’ fault, that’s the fault of certain companies who refuse to release their information. The sales statistics are complete – they come from the MLS (but beware the “sales to ask ratio” of, say 88% – MLS uses last asking price, not original), but the mapping feature is a little less than 100%. You’ll still get a pretty good idea of what’s out there, though.

Here’s an irony, by the way: I left Raveis because his legal department wanted me to indemnify the firm from any law suits that might arise from my blog, a $100,000 or so liability I was unwilling to assume, especially when I can defend myself for free. A friend who’s still there tells me that they are now pushing their agents to start blogs as a marketing tool! I offered, many times, to give classes on blogging, just to be a team player. Never accepted but now that they forced me out, someone in marketing looked around and said, “gee…”. Heh.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Sales data

  1. Retired IB'er

    Good stuff. You think the underlying data is accurate (ie not massaged)?

  2. Xyzzy

    One thing I hate about that site is you put in riverside and it gives you all of greenwich. It wouldn’t bother me as much if riverside weren’t one of their default searches.

    • christopherfountain

      Xyzzy, if you select Greenwich but then use the drop down to select Riverside, you get only Riverside data. I just tried it and it works.

  3. Riverside Dog Walker

    Go read any easily discoverable real estate blog on the internet and you will find most of them to be infomercials. Their idea of a real estate blog and yours is not on the same planet.

  4. xyzzy

    You must be going to a different place on the site.

    This page
    http://www.raveis.com/propfind.asp?STATE=CT

    when you enter Riverside gives you all of greenwich.

  5. So you like Raveis? After his near bankruptcies and the Home-Link disaster…not to mention his ethical issues and right wing fanatical politics. He admits his best friends are his attorney and his accountant. For these reasons, he refuses to speak to the press, let alone blog.

    Something you should address down the road.

    • christopherfountain

      No need to. Bill Raveis always treated me fairly, the Greenwich office was run ethically and if he holds conservative political views (something I was unaware of) well that’s hardly a black mark in my book.