Two contracts, one reduction

10 West End

It’s probably true that the first asking price of $2.295 was too rich for this house on West End Avenue but, notwithstanding the CVS parking lot abutting it, I always liked the house itself. It has a nice sized backyard, some decent renovations inside and a very convenient location. Today it’s been marked down to $1.475, against an assessed value of $1.7 million, and it’s looking pretty good.

16 Stillman Lane, marked down $1.5 million to $4.475, has gone to contract (direct sale by owner without benefit of clergy – we agents hate when that happens), as has 25 (?) Old Wagon Road, new construction in Havemeyer. Old Wagon was asking $1.775 which seemed steep to me but either someone has driven a hard bargain or liked the house enough to pay full freight. Which it is will be revealed when it sells.

Otherwise, a dull day in real estate and, I predict, another dull week coming up. I may head back north for another shot at Bambi.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Two contracts, one reduction

  1. Anonymous

    CF, have you walked the ground where bambi lives at different times of the day and during each of the four seasons? do you use a guide?

    • christopherfountain

      It’s new hunting ground to me, quiet, but I spent a fair amount of time on it last week and, with the help of a topomap (and Google maps) found some promising areas of ponds/fields/woodlands. I came across fresh tracks, droppings and even bedding areas and seem to have mapped out a couple of routes between bedding areas and those ponds and woods and thickets. There’s snow predicted up there for later in the week which may stir the darling creatures about and make them a bit more active during the day.
      It’s a combination of posted and non-posted land and I’d like to get up there soon to gain an introduction to my friend’s neighbors and secure permission to hunt their land. It’s been my experience, as a landowner and a hunter, that as long as the owner knows who is walking his land he’s okay with letting him hunt. We’ll see.

  2. Resident

    Plenty of deer in Greenwich if you can use your bow. You can save the gas and solve the lyme problem for us simultaneously.

  3. If you want to stop by in Westchester on your way upstate. I’ll make you a cup of coffee with my Technivorm brewer. I’ll even break out the estate grown Kenyan.

  4. Stanwich

    There was an 8 pointer in my backyard last week — and that’s in Riverside south of the Post Road. You could walk to my house and bow hunt from the top of my kids’ swing set, or from the guest bedroom if you’d like. Seriously, I just bought a new grill with rotisserie we could fire up to roast that lymey bastard once you kill him.

    • christopherfountain

      I definitely have to get an archery permit for next year. It’s not crazy to leave Greenwich for less-infested deer areas – I like the country/wilderness aspect, but for most deer per square inch, I’m already here.

  5. Chief Sachem

    from http://www.depdata.ct.gov/wildlife/hunting/killreports/2009ArcheryDeer.asp

    Bow Hunting Results
    Greenwich 11/30/2009 Deer Harvest

    Adult Does 1
    Young Does 27
    Adult Bucks 4
    Button Bucks 25