Smoked bluefish dip

Nah, I was out with Lou Van Leeuwen, not this hottie

So Lou  Van Leeuwen and I caught a couple of bluefish Sunday morning and because Lou is a softy, we released the bigger of the two, which meant he ended up with no smoked dip. Here’s what I did with the fillets from the little one:

1. Brined it for an hour in 1/2 cup of salt, a 1/2 cup of brown sugar and water.

2. Smoked it in my Bradley Smoker for 2 hours.

3. Pureed the fish with a couple of cloves of garlic, half a Vidalia onion, a couple of dashes of Worcestershire sauce, some lemon juice, an 8 oz. package of cream cheese and a dollop of mayonnaise.

4. Served on Japanese rice crackers. Delicious.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Smoked bluefish dip

  1. bc

    now if you could find a marlin…

  2. Pete

    Took me a while to realize she was holding a fish.

  3. GB'er

    I’ve seen Lou in a bikini before, he can actually pull it off pretty well.