Here’s my suggestion: just bypass Wiscasset and Red’s Eats

Residents of Wiscasset fret over traffic caused by Red’s, the lobster roll place. Having lived in Maine and eaten at Red’s I can promise you that you can skip both and not miss much. Wiscasset in May is great but summertime? Forget it. You don’t want to be anywhere on Route One in Maine during the summer until at least Bucksport.

And you can make a most excellent lobster roll at least as good as Red’s – ask me for my recipe – at home for, at worst, half the price of Red’ $14.95 and you won’t have to wait an hour in line sucking down exhaust fumes. So head further north – anywhere north of Bar Harbor, rent a cottage by the sea, make you own lobster rolls and enjoy the view. That’s my  Maine tourism tip for this season.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Here’s my suggestion: just bypass Wiscasset and Red’s Eats

  1. westsidelackey

    well now, i would tend to disagree with you on that. Reds is worth a stop, once, maybe twice. It is damn good, and the traffic is to be expected. Its like the statue of liberty – just because you went there in grammar school does not mean you dont appreciate the place, or moreover Reds place in Americana…..

  2. Reader

    Another reason that the place to go is Bob’s Clam Hut in Kittery, rated as the best fried clams in Maine by Down East Magazine. Eh yup.

  3. towny

    rye beach

  4. Reader – I have a passion for fried clams and yet, despite childhood summers spent in Ogunquit, just north of Kittery, I don’t believe I ever discovered Bob’s. I will definitely try it on my next trip north. Lobster rolls can be easily made yourself – deep frying clams to just the right texture is, to this semi-alright cook, daunting.

  5. Reader – I have a passion for fried clams and yet, despite childhood summers spent in Ogunquit, just north of Kittery, I don’t believe I ever discovered Bob’s. I will definitely try it on my next trip north. Lobster rolls can be easily made yourself – deep frying clams to just the right texture is, to this semi-alright cook, daunting.

  6. sjo

    Out with the recipe!