Want an inside view of real estate (non) negotiation?

Here’s what four months of duplicity and bullshit eventually produces. Mind you, the acerbic tone comes from a writer who trusted this particular agent as a friend and warded off warnings from a real estate lawyer that the agent was a fraud and a crook and so ended up looking like a fool to his own client.

Dear XXX – thank you for your offer to “discuss the status of negotiations”, but you apparently don’t understand the status of this deal: it’s binary: 0/1, yes/no. Mr. XXX  is, if possible, even more disgusted and embittered from being jerked around by you than I am and he’s made his last, final, non-negotiable offer. Accept it, and retrieve a sale, or he walks, period. Neither of us is interested in “status reports”, and there will be no further negotiations. Period. If I can make this any clearer, please advise. Otherwise, a yes or no on Monday is imperative.

CCF

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Want an inside view of real estate (non) negotiation?

  1. Demmerkrat Patriot

    Greed and desperation make even the most sane, honest people act like completely unscrupulous sleazes. I’d have you look back at your own postings about the Greenwich MLS to gain perspective on how desperate some real estate brokers are, but …

    When the cocktail question for brokers concerns whether they’re the fourth or fifth broker trying to sell a property, it’s pretty obvious that delusion and desperation are running deep in Greenwich real estate.

    Caveat: not all brokers behave like this, and not all sellers are hoping for a Hail Mary sale to save their financial butts. Thankfully.

  2. Swing Trader

    A while back, I was a real estate broker for eight years in another community, and I left the industry; I couldn’t take it anymore. There’s something about real estate transactions…they bring out the absolute worst in human nature. Does XXX think you’re an idiot? It’s tough enough dealing with unreasonable buyers and sellers, but with people in your own industry launching torpedos, it gets futile. My guess is if your buyer says sayonara on Monday, XXX will hide behind his broker, or someone else, bleating about “miscommunication”, and you will be left holding the bag. Sucks, IMO.

  3. Walt

    Pumpkin Head –
    Why do you need a yes or no? Why not just a yes, or forget it?
    And you blew it with the ” Mr. XXX is, if possible, even more disgusted and embittered from being jerked around by you than I am ”
    You are above being embittered and jerked around. Your client isn’t. You are just doing your job. Like a “professional”. I know, that made me laugh too!!

    With you, it is business, doing what is right, and nothing more. It’s strictly business, Sonny. GODFATHER, Dude!!

    And it really is. Do the right thing, represent your clients well, and realize others don’t always do that. Which is their loss in the long run. And it really is. But never take it personal.

    You up for a lobster roll?
    Your Pal,
    Walt

  4. pulled up in OG

    This redacted stuff sucks. Give Julian a call.

  5. Anonymous

    I trust your rant is a fantasy response to a sleaze ball agent, not the always-in-control, rational and professional response of our Churchillian property transactor. Never show any emotion to someone on the other side of a transaction unless it is a planned and well acted tactic.

    Your best move here is to get face to face with the principal (seller) who is probably at least 1% less of an asshole and 1% more rational than his reprehensible representative.

  6. This type of stalled-out process is a typical occurrence around my parts as well. It’s a classic symptom of a rigged-up, broken market that can’t clear.

    The bid/ask spread is too wide to be bridged.

  7. pulled up in OG

    Any response from Dear XXX today?

    • Lost the deal and the client. Mostly my fault for being ill last week and out of communication because there was a deal to have been made there. But a word to buyers – it’s one thing to bluff the buyer with a “highest and best and don’t dream of demanding more” offer, but when you tell you own agent the same thing, he’ll tend to (or I tend to) take you at your word, and spurn higher demands, especially from a sickbed.
      So my former client’s angry at me and I understand that, but had he leveled with me, rather than hiding his true upper price in order, I suppose, to make me sound more sincere, I could have done a better job representing him.

      But if you don’t trust your agent’s competence, it’s time to part ways. My guess is the client and the seller will cut a deal without paying any commission, since I don’t bind clients to dealing with me and they can leave any time. I think he’ll pay more than he would have had I had real numbers to deal with, but ao it goes.

  8. w b h

    It’s best not to lie to your doctor, your lawyer, or your Realtor.