How do you clean wool hunting pants?

Between last year’s deer slaughter and this year’s traipsing through the Mane woods, my wool camo pants are a little icky. The dry cleaners refused the job because son John, who wore them this year, found every briar and pricker bush in the obscure section of Maine we hunted (not his fault – I sent him there). I’d figured that either a stiff brush or steel wool would solve the problem but no go. Any suggestions? Otherwise, I suppose a little dried blood won’t hurt anything.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “How do you clean wool hunting pants?

  1. Greenwich Gal

    Briar by briar, pricker by pricker….removal by hand. (Kind of sounds like dating, eh?)

  2. Walt

    Dude -
    Are you kidding me or what? This is a piece of cake. Here is what you do. Boil a big pot of water.
    Turn the hunting pants inside out. Strip down and put them on. Tie some string around your ankles outside the pants. Secure tightly. Squirt some Dawn dishwashing liquid inside the waistband. Try and keep pure toughts while you do this, you slob.
    Pour the boiling water down the front. Tighten belt as much as possible. Then go for a two mile jog.
    Should do the trick! And you can use the pricker bushes to make soup!!
    Let me know how this works.
    Your Pal,
    Walt

  3. pulled up in OG

    Chris, you probably missed this one while getting your pants dirty.

    http://www.vaildaily.com/article/20101104/NEWS/101109939/1078

  4. Peg

    I would think that the burrs and blood “season” the pants.

    Of course, about the closest I ever get to wildlife and deer is shooting out the window with my Nikon :)

  5. Peg

    Boy; I set myself up for that one, didn’t I?!

    Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

  6. peeps

    How do you clean wool hunting pants? You don’t. Throw ‘em out and find another hobby.

    • Well gee, Peeps, I suppose naked stalking of females or children could be considered a hobby, but I’d prefer to keep my pants and bang away at Bambi. So far, over the years, it’s something like Bambi 20, Chris 4. The deer are winning.

  7. peeps

    Not a good comparison. When you win, the deer are shot, but when you say that the deer “win” all that happens is they get away. You’re still alive to sell houses and keep the blog another day.

    I should admit that relatives visiting always gets me crabby.