Damn it, here’s why I still read the NYT

A great article on the Green Bay Packers coach home town, Pittsburgh. I hate – hate! – their editorial board, but the Times has some of the best reporters on earth (including my cousin Henry Fountain, of course), and this story illustrates that perfectly.

 I’ve got to check with my cousin Ed where our great-grandfather John Caldwell’s house stood in Pittsburgh I’ve seen photographs, with its Tiffany glass windows and beautiful woodwork, but Ed lived in the city, and tells me that that section became a slum after 1910 and the house burned down. Still, I’d like to visit.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Damn it, here’s why I still read the NYT

  1. peeps

    Maybe we can all get together and charter a bus!

  2. uncle ugly

    John Caldwell lived in Edgewood, PA, a suburb of Pittsburgh. One of Scarsdale’s five elementary schools is named Edgewood School, presumably to recognize our Grandmother’s contributions to education in the town.