Daily Archives: January 30, 2011

Gordon Lightfoot

WFUV just played Peter, Paul and Mary’s version of Lightfoot’s “In the early morning rain”. Great writer, and great trio. I did jump a few freight trains, back in the day, so this song’s lyric, “you can’t jump a jet plane the way you can a freight train” resonated. That, and waking up cold and drunk a few too many times back then.

Mary Traver’s daughter lived here (and she still may, so I won’t blow her cover) and I met her at a party, years ago.  I looked at her and said something silly (but sincere) like, “don’t I know you?” “Mary Travers is my Mom”. Spitting image. Mary died a year or so ago, and what a loss.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Colonel Sanders is kicking Ronald McDonalds butt in China

Okay, it’s not real estate, but if you like business news, this Bloomberg article is fun.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

NYC’s teachers’ union

$100,000 a year for a pervert sitting in “the rubber room”.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Braised lamb shanks

I was at Stop & Shop with Ma yesterday and saw lambshanks, inexpensive, and imported from Australia. But when I got them home, they smelled “off”, despite their shelf date of January 31, and when I started browning them today, the stench grew pronounced. My menu was set in my head, however, so those suckers went out to freeze on the front porch (I’ll return them tomorrow for a refund) and I went to ShopeRite to procure new ones.These are American (and cost twice as much, which is why I prefer the Aussie’s, generally), but were bright pink and smelled sweet.

They’re slowly cooking as I write, in a broth of chicken stock, white wine, a couple of anchovy filets. salt, pepper, mushrooms, onions, garlic, lemon and mint. By dinnertime, they should be fall-off-the-bone tender. Serve them with garlic mashed potatoes and a salad, and life will be good. I’d make someone a wonderful husband, wouldn’t I?  After eight years off, I really should try dating again. : )

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

A dismal Hartford

The place wasn’t exactly a hot spot when I attended law school there in 1978-81, but they now have a 30% office vacancy rate, and growing. What do you do when a city dies?

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

(Another) good reason to stay away from hospitals

Medical students practice rectal, vaginal examinations on sedated patients.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Sarah Palin: Panama Canal is in Egypt

Oops! No, it was Mr. Tingley Legs himself, Chris Matthews, who said that. No word whether he can see the ditch from his back porch.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

That horrid Teddy Kennedy, may he roast in Hell, accused Robert Bork of creating back-alley abortion clinics

In fact, it was people like Kennedy who set these people free.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Until now, I thought spam texts were annoying

A would-be suicide bomber blows up early when her mobile carrier sends a “Happy New Year” text to its customers. A happy new year indeed.

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Bottom story of the day (so far)

Waterbury man moves auto shop to Plymouth

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized