If you enjoy this kind of humor

 Then I highly recommend this review of Harlem’s Sylvia’s Chicken joint, written by a white liberal tourist.

ALL I CAN SAY IS YUMMMMM

 I had always known about Sylvia’s but heard mixed reviews. I must say that the food was scrumptious. I had fried chicken, barbeque ribs, macaroni & cheese, candied yams, and collard greens. HAVE MERCY. Loved the fact that I met Sylvia’s daughters and even grandsons. I definitely loved it. Loved the pictures lining the walls showing the history of the restaurant and all who have visited. A REAL Harlem Establishment. Must support family owned business…a dying breed. Especially ones that stay true to their cause.

 

And again, if you like this stuff then you must, absolutely must read Red Sky at Morning, set in New Mexico during WW II, depicting charming southern women joining in Negro spirituals, waving their arms in the air and shouting “hallelujah”.  Have mercy indeed.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “If you enjoy this kind of humor

  1. Cobra

    I’ll stick with Will Morton’s.

  2. The Duke of Deception

    Thanks for the memories. Red Sky At Morning was a fav of the Duke when he was a kid. May grab one from Amazon and take a trip down memory lane.

  3. InfoDiva

    Very curious–how, exactly, do you know that this review was written by a “white, liberal tourist”?

  4. IDAHO

    Be careful Lad we don’t want you back a Yale!

  5. InfoDiva

    I guess it never would have occurred to me to even try to imagine the reviewer’s skin color.

    And now that I look at it, I see that the reviewer’s handle is “RecentGraduate.” Having spent 7 years of my life on Morningside Heights, within walking distance of Sylvia’s, I imagine a southern-born Columbia grad–of any skin color–who was happy to find the tastes of home in his new backyard.

    Chris, lighten up. It’s a restaurant review, for chrissakes, not a political manifesto.

  6. Greenwich Gal

    And your point is?….