Daily Archives: July 4, 2011

I think Walt and I have a new job

There’s this British guy running as the Demmerkrat candidate for First Selectman (the Lord Mayor to him, probably) and he’s offering to pay $2,500 a month for a campaign director, with a bonus month if the chump actually wins. Demmerkrat Chairman Frankie Fudrucker acknowledges that that’s far more than he’d ever pay me, and Walt is obviously bored as hell up there on Round Hill Road, so I’m thinking we’ll just go for it. If we can’t bring down Peter Pussy, we’re the absolute losers Walt thinks we are I am.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

I like this

From Reader “Pete” (To be fair, who the hell knows who writes these things – maybe an Australian dentist, maybe a dog posing as a human, but I sure do share his sentiments. The only thing I might add is that in this country, we are governed by consent, not coercion. Or used to be.)

UPDATE: Reader “Networthdecling” sends along this correction: the article was written just after 9/11, by a law professor. I’m proud of my profession.

My daughter sent this to me today. Seems appropriate.
To Kill an American
You probably missed this in the rush of news, but there was actually a report that someone in Pakistan had published in a newspaper, an offer of a reward to anyone who killed an American, any American.

So an Australian dentist wrote an editorial the following day to let everyone know what an American is. So they would know when they found one. (Good one, mate!!!!)

‘An American is English, or French, or Italian, Irish, German, Spanish, Polish, Russian or Greek. An American may also be Canadian, Mexican, African, Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Australian, Iranian, Asian, Arab, Pakistani or Afghan.

An American may also be a Comanche, Cherokee, Osage, Blackfoot, Navaho, Apache, Seminole or one of the many other tribes known as native Americans..

An American is Christian, or he could be Jewish, or Buddhist, or Muslim. In fact, there are more Muslims in America than in Afghanistan . The only difference is that in America they are free to worship as each of them chooses.

An American is also free to believe in no religion.. For that he will answer only to God, not to the government, or to armed thugs claiming to speak for the government and for God.

An American lives in the most prosperous
land in the history of the world..
The root of that prosperity can be found in the Declaration of Independence , which recognizes the God-given right of each person to the pursuit of happiness.

An American is generous.. Americans have helped out just about every other nation in the world in their time of need, never asking a thing in return.

When Afghanistan was over-run by the Soviet army 20 years ago, Americans came with arms and supplies to enable the people to win back their country!

As of the morning of September 11, Americans had given more than any other nation to the poor in Afghanistan ..
The national symbol of America , The Statue of Liberty , welcomes your tired and your poor, the wretched refuse of your teeming shores, the homeless, tempest tossed. These in fact are the people who built America

Some of them were working in the Twin Towers the morning of September 11, 2001, earning a better life for their families. It’s been told that the World Trade Center victims were from at least 30 different countries, cultures, and first languages, including those that aided and abetted the terrorists.
So you can try to kill an American if you must. Hitler did. So did General Tojo, and Stalin, and Mao Tse-Tung, and other blood-thirsty tyrants in the world.. But, in doing so, you would just be killing yourself. Because Americans are not a particular people from a particular place. They are the embodiment of the human spirit of freedom. Everyone who holds to that spirit, everywhere, is an American.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

This, on the other hand, is not funny

Banks readying the axe.  The story is from Britain, but it sounds bad for us here in the US, too. No glee here – some of these folks are my clients, many more are my friends. And, except for government workers, I hate to see anyone lose his job (I might even be persuaded to have some sympathy for those guys, too).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Oh, too funny!

Never be screened by the TSA again. Al Qaeda advises young terrorists to act gay. In the future, I’m only going to fly with certain friends.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Well, it was fun while it lasted

Vance to drop all charges against DSK. It was a great circus, but I guess the tents are being folded. Maybe to reopen in France, though, so stay tuned.

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Simon and Garfunkle on WFUV

Broadcast recorded long ago but “live” on WFUV.org. (90.7). My pal Lou VanLeeuwen says he went to high school with these guys and remembers them as “Tom and Jerry”. The rascal’s just old enough for the story to be true.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Because I’m lazy, believe in recycling and am fond of this post, here’s one from last year

July 4th, 2010, 5:00 PM

God Bless America

I’m heading back over soon to my neighbors and friends, Andy and Janet Bein’s Fourth of July party, where what must be twenty kids are swimming, kayaking, and flipping a canoe upside down while their parents chat and keep an easy eye on them. Watching that peaceful scene, I was reminded of my fishing partner  of this morning, Lou Van Leewuen’s tale – back in the late 30′s his parents walked, with his mother pregnant with Louis, from Holland to Spain to escape the Nazis. They eventually made their way to this country, penniless but alive, and started a new life. I don’t know the Bein’s story, but is there a Jewish family anywhere without tales of loss and sorrow from the Holocaust?

 

My own Huguenot ancestors fled the slaughter yards of France back in the 1500′s and came to New Amsterdam via Holland. Yet here we all are on this brilliant sunny day in July, enjoying a life of peace and prosperity.

 

I’m far too long removed from the events to feel any particular pride that my ancestors fought to make this country free, but I’m certainly grateful to them, and am awfully pleased, this day, to be an American, and grateful to have friends like Louis, and Andy and Janet.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Boycott NPR!

The announcer just said that the Yankees beat the Mets yesterday! Are you friggin’  kidding me? ! Oh perfidy, oh   whatever.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

It’s a damn tragedy, says I

The Saint Joseph Paper Company was a timber operation in Florida that cared for and preserved millions of acres of land and gave the profits, as I recall, to various charities.  A hedge fund grabbed it in a hostile take over, tossed out the old fools who thought they were doing useful service and converted the company into a land development company. Turns out, that wasn’t so wise and now the hedge funders are under SEC investigation. I don’t have access to Lexis, but I’m going to try to dig up the original Wall Street Journal article on the raid on this company from maybe 15 years ago. If I find it, I’ll post it. If I can’t, you guys with better resources might want to dig it up. A sad story of good people doing good, upended by a few greedy, stupid f**ks.

UPDATE: Whoa, look what I found! Don’t you just love the Internet? History of the St. Joe Paper Company. Not the WSJ article I’d hoped for, but it will do.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Greece defaults

That’s what Standard & Poors says. The trouble with this is that a default triggers all sorts of bad things. We may be in for interesting times.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized