Owie, owie!

Gideon Fountain writes:

A drunken brawl at one of my favorite Port Chester, New York,

Don't try this at home.

watering holes* resulted in this slash across the ring finger and the 5 stitches you see here.  I took my finger to  Greenwich Convenient Medical Care (sometimes called “Doc-In-A-Box” by wags),  at 1200 East Putnam Avenue, across from Baang Restaurant, in Riverside, just before the Route 95 entrance/exit.

The doctor that fixed me up was great, he’s been doing this stuff for 25 years, so the stitches and the tetanus-shot took about 15 minutes, tops.  They had other doctors working as  assistants only, because they’re from other countries, and are in the process of completing their residencies at hospitals in the area.  

So, having experienced their work, I can now recommend this place completely.  The only slight fly in the ointment was the difference in the price I was quoted and the actual bill I was presented.  I pay my own medical expenses so I’m a teensy-bit sensitive to cost, don’t you know.  And no, Fudrucker, old chum, I do not  look forward to government-run health care!

*Actually, it was the lid of a dog-food can.

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “Owie, owie!

  1. Libertarian Advocate

    I can’t tell you how happy I am was to learn that the watering hole was named The Alpo Lid given your admirable proclivity for licensed CC.

  2. Tiffany Cartier

    Maybe if you finally got a ring on that finger you could have deflected the broken Colt45 bottle! Get Married already!

  3. Greenwich Gal

    I should have taken my baby sitter to that clinic. My baby sitter cut herself as she was slicing an apple. I took her to the emergency room at Greenwich Hospital. Five stiches. Guess what the bill is? $1,600! Yikes!!!!! No insurance. Dumb move to go to Greenwich Hospital. How can they charge that much money for a 10 minute procedure?

    • Gideon Fountain responds:
      “Greenwich Gal”: Yep, I agree, next time, go to Doc-In-A-Box in Riverside. Your bill from Greenwich Hospital of $1,600 was over twice what I was charged.

  4. Anonymous

    And they were singing… All the other kids with the pumped up kicks

  5. The Duke of Deception

    Dumbass

  6. Anonymous

    Tiffany’s got the picture: Gideon is the richest and hottest single realtor in Greenwich. You go, girl, and best of luck: may you find yourself riding in the passenger seat of his new Jag!

  7. Anonymous

    I hope you didn’t blood all over the new car. :lol:

  8. Stanwich

    You were getting pretty aggressive with the dog food can to get a cut like that……slow sales environment getting on your nerves??

  9. greenwich dude

    doc in a box is great for stuff you can diagnose yourself … don’t take anything complicated there

    and for chrissakes, gideon, please tell us you at least have health insurance that covers catastrophic type care

    • Gideon Fountain responds:
      “greenwich dude”: Probably correct about taking one’s uncomplicated problems to such a place, although I have now heard some very favorable reviews from friends who used the place for more serious issues. As for having a “catastrophic” medical policy, no, I don’t. Perhaps today would be a good day to look into that.

  10. Inagua

    Greenwich Gal – I had a similar experience, and I called the hospital. After failing to catch on to several leading questions such as, “Are you complaining about the bill?” I finally figured out the code and said, “Yes, I am complaining.” The response was, “Okay, now that you have registered a complaint, I am authorized to reduce the charge by 60%.”

  11. greenwich dude

    in addition to taking care with the finger, pls look into the insurance. part of the reason that greenwich hospital is so expensive is because of assholes like you… excuse me, i meant people who drive jaguars but don’t have basic health insurance. unless of course you’re willing to die on the street if you end up in an accident and you have a copy of that advanced directive tattooed on your chest.

    • Gideon Fountain responds:
      “greenwich dude”: Um, thank you for your sensitive advice, douche-bag! Actually, I possess the assets to pay my bills and no tax-payers will ever, ever foot the bill for me for anything. Still, you’ve blundered into a good point which is, everyone oughtta at least have high-deductable, “catastrophic” health insurance.

  12. Horse jock

    Guest host: check out catastrophic health insurance through the National Organization for the Self Employed (NASE). If you can afford that Jag you can afford this.

  13. Greenwich Gal

    This is the original Greenwich Gal. Whoever is using my nom de plume, please stop and find another name. I have been using that on this blog for years.

  14. pulled up in OG

    So, maybe six hundred bucks for five stitches, a tetanus shot and fifteen minutes. Yeah, that’s quite the bargain.

    • Gideon Fountain responds…
      “pulled up in OG”: Yes, it was very good work, and I was happy to pay it. My only gripe is that when, as I always do before buying anything , I asked “How much is this going to cost me?” The answer was “$400 to $450″, yet, after the procedure, I was presented a bill for $1,050! After a short discussion, the bill was reduced to $750.

  15. Uncle Zeke

    Gid: Take the blog founders lead and get on the state (welfare) plan

  16. greenwich dude

    ah nothing like sensitive give and take among like minded folk on a greenwich blog…happy insurance hunting!

  17. Anonymous

    did you all know that any hospital will take 70% cash to settle a bill if you show any dissatifaction or threaten to write them up..

    your doc in box doctor in gwih was a target of ag blumenthal when the doc there charged people 100 bucks a shot for a 10 dollar vaccine when there was an infuenza vaccine shortage 3 seasons ago…yeah what a great doc for overcharging the public in a time of shortage.

    • Gideon Fountain responds…
      “Anonymous”: Tell me where to go to get a $10 flu shot, woud’ja? And (former) Attorney General Blumenthal’s participation makes me immediately suspicious of the whole story.

  18. Tell Corvino to retire already

    How much longer do we have to endure Corvino rule. He built a boondoggle. Time for Corvino to retire. And dismiss that Moleanelli guy who rules over the quack doc house.

  19. dogwalker

    I love doc in a box! Have been there many, many times over the years. Even with serious stuff. They know there limits and will refer to the hospital when appropriate. I just wish Dr. Gabriel had a regular practice. I’d sign up for him to be my PCP in a flash!

    Anonymous, I remember the incident but not all the details, but I believe you are not completely correct. To the point here, the charge for the flu shot was not any different than it had been. Is the charge for a visit more than at a regular doctor’s office? Yes. But there was no price gauging.

  20. 2112

    What is the name of the watering hole?

    • Gideon Fountain responds…
      “2112″: Well, that line about “my favorite Port Chester watering hole” was said in jest, don’t you know, but if I had to name a place, I guess it would be that dump charming establishment called “Sam’s”, just over the Mill Street bridge?

  21. I am not really understanding why everyone is dishing out so much shit for having a certain type of car. If you are spending a lot of time in a vehicle, you should absolutely drive the one you want.
    Sorry about your finger.

    • Gideon Fountain responds…
      “Karen”: Aww, thanks! But no worries, I actually like all the “dishing”…it amuses me, it amuses the readers. And yes, the car is the broker’s “office”, you spend a hell of a lot of time there, so it might as well be nice. As for the finger, stitches came out today, no gangrene!

  22. Pike Johnson

    Written by a true real estate pro.
    Gideon Fountain responds…
    “2112″: Well, that line about “my favorite Port Chester watering hole” was said in jest, don’t you know, but if I had to name a place, I guess it would be that dump charming establishment called “Sam’s”, just over the Mill Street bridge?

    Gid, you are so theatrical. Did you ever think about becoming an actor?