Mike Finkbeiner was right

Based in his previous surveys of my and Pal Nancy’s houses and his charting of yesterday’s surges he’d predicted neither would flood- water came to Nancy’s deck, leaving maybe a foot or less before the furnace went, but a miss is as good as a mile.
Some of the houses on the other side of the creek, which are lower, look damp but no word yet.
Winding creeks are excellent protection against wave damage- there’s a price to pay for a spectacular view of the Sound. Most owners I know, however, have always been willing to pay that price, which I understand and if I could afford the real estate, would do myself.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Mike Finkbeiner was right

  1. Peg

    I am SO glad you are OK!!!

    • Others were not so fortunate, sadly. Old Greenwich, which is just on the other side of our creek, got hammered- not necessarily creek houses but those around (a few) bends facing the Sound directly, not so good.
      Of course, growing up here, I have lots of memories of Old Greenwich residents being evacuated in everything from row boats to front end loaders, so none of this comes as a surprise. Newer residents may not have that knowledge- another reason, Peg, to use a real estate agent who knows the lay of the land, so to speak, whether in Minnesota or New England.

  2. Anonymous

    Chris – can you see if there are boats floating or wrecked all along the sound, or did the marinas manage ok?

  3. Chimney

    I think that the view from the coves and creeks is a lot more interesting than looking at the open water. Also, the wildlife is great, and there is more protection from storms. I’ll take Chimney cove over open water any day!