I’m probably inviting trouble but …

I’ve changed the comment control from “moderate all comments” to “previously approved commenter”, with the idea that regular contributors to this blog can just fire away and see what they’ve wrought immediately. This may cause more problems than it solves because there are a few commenters who can go beyond what I, in my exclusive role as blogmeister, think appropriate (no, not Walt, he’s family, sort of) and those offensive comments will now appear without prior approval and will remain until I notice and dump them.

But it’d be nice to have a live comment board, so if this works without having the comment section deteriorate into the useless, profane mess that other sites’ unmoderated boards are, that’s a good thing. If not, then back to being a hall monitor. So behave yourselves, children.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

22 responses to “I’m probably inviting trouble but …

  1. Anonymous

    Opinions are like A-holes. Everybody has one and is entitled to its full use at will. But FWIW doesn’t have to publish them without passing a smell test.

  2. Al Dente

    It is with unreserved optimism that I applaud your courageous decision to unleash the creative scribes, critics and curmudgeons of Greenwich, and indeed the world.

    What a dumb ass.

  3. How does WordPress know one is previously approved – by the IP address? I often comment from my phone, or RI, or even from my plane (kidding!). And, shhhhh, don’t tell, but I don’t always comment as EOSr. Will I need to be pre-approved in each instance?

    As long as we can say anything and get away with it, what’s become of the Lockwood & Mead website? FF too busy playing Democrat to bother with such things?

    • FF

      The temporary site with the IDX feed is up at lockwoodmead.com. The artistes are working as we speak

      • The editor in me says decide Lockwood and Mead or Lockwood & Mead. The headline says one. The copy says another. If the name of the company on the masthead is L&M, then stick to it that way ALL the time to refer to it.

  4. The Mickster

    OMG! Let the good times roll…

  5. Earth Ocean Sky Redux

    Won’t this leave everyone open to impersonation?

  6. The Governor

    Glad to see you’ve found your marbles.

  7. The Mickster

    Head’s up – Seat belt check at Cos Cob Fire Station all day today

  8. Walt

    Dude –
    A most excellent idea, you no d&%K motherf*&%$r.
    Your Pal,
    Walt

  9. Pot Calling Kettle

    Let’s get this party started…..

  10. Walt

    Dude -
    Although this idea may turn out like this:

    Your Pal,
    Walt

  11. Walt

    Dude -
    It wouldn’t let me post a video. And no, it was not Debbie Does Dallas.
    AJ’s head may explode if you don’t fix this glitch.
    Your Pal,
    Walt

  12. 2 Cents !
    Thanks for the pay raise….
    You must be a Republican…

  13. Good try InfoDiva but you forgot the link to my blog! I can use all the blog traffic I can get. :-)

  14. My question is answered. I posted a comment from my iPhone as me, EOSr, to reply to InfoDiva, and it says “waiting for moderation.” So you know us by our IP address, not our moniker. Interesting.

    • The question is, can Evil Walt get past the new screening filter using his own ip address but flying under the false flag of your moniker to post his uncouth rantings and besmirch your name? Walt?

    • Anonymous

      That is really disgusting, and it can’t help but remind me of a very bad accident some years ago on I-95 in Greenwich in which our local firefighters/emergency responders looted thousands of dollars worth of crates full of live lobsters from the scene.

      Poor proles, desperate to feed their starving families maybe?

  15. Greenwich Old Timer

    Harmless as my would-be posts usually are, it was not always easy to get through the “system” – I for one am thrilled with the instant gratification aspect of this new approach!

  16. armonk

    Just testing to see if I am in!