Hell, even the gypsies get it

Due to EU rules change, 29 million Bulgarians, Romanians can move to England next year, and the gypsy population is gearing up to do so. But they recognize they’ll have to move fast, before the welfare state runs out of other people’s money. Says one gypsy, already ensconced in England with his wife and children, of the new wave of immigrants:

‘But there will be a day when your country is full up, when you cannot afford to give benefits to any more people from Europe and the rest of the world, too. They hope to get there before that moment happens.’

Sounds rather like our own country, except our “gypsies” are home-grown.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hell, even the gypsies get it

  1. Westchesterer

    Romanians and Bulgarians and gypsies are completely different. The former two being hard workers, with pride and culture. The latter being thieves, beggars, and gypsies. It’s not appropriate to lump the Roma in with indigenous Eastern Europeans. The Roma are most likely wanderers from India and are not indigenous. A high frequency of Roma patrilineal DNA matches populations of India, while almost no Indian patrilineal DNA is found amongst indigenous Bulgarians and Romanians.

  2. Anonymous

    As a mature student of English Law, I am reading an EU Law textbook over Christmas (hence straying here, to my second home, FWIW). The analysis and case law of the Freedom of Movement and Citizenship Articles of the TFEU and TEU (Treaty on European Union) are, to a eurosceptic, like being repeatedly beaten up with a brick over your head. I am determined to get through the torture that I have lined up for myself, but what happens in the real world outside my frustration?
    When I left England 14 years ago, exercising my own right to ‘freedom of movement’ around the Globe, I had been working my adult life in the NHS. I knew from that little world, that England was in a ‘sad sorry state’ with the promise of only moving further away from my values.

    I can not imagine ever going home, or at least being happy there. I hear that our ‘sheltered’ area of London is now not the safe place that we used to call home. We ‘weekended’ at the seaside, but even that area declined quickly to not being what it was since we left. It takes a generation of integration for values to align to local standards and the interim is far from ideal. It appears that the whole of Europe, over an incredibly short space of time, has deliberately experimented with ‘mixing’ the nations. Indeed my textbook refers to an elaborate laboratory experiment.
    We must remember that the original aim of the ‘European’ initiative was not only to obtain a joint control of the power sources (fuel) of Germany, but to create such an integration of the nations, so that ‘Nationalism’ would be firmly relegated to history, never to rear its’ ugly head. The stages of the ‘experiment’ were so much divided into installments, and the ‘illusion’ that it was due to democratic progress, guaranteed the success of each of the developments. For example the EU law change as you highlight from the ‘Daily Mail’ was not one of the cards put on the table in 1987, but now any member state who narrowly interprets any of the directives or the applicable Treaties will not be in compliance. The Romanian issue is not the greatest worry to face those slightly concerned.

    I much prefer being an immigrant in other peoples’ countries; Germany, Caribbean, Greenwich, China, than to stand and watch my own country fade into an unrecognisable amalgamation of ‘social deprivation’. I’m not sure whether the British people are going to move away from being pro-European any time soon. We (UK) have no constitution that would make it impossible for us to immediately repeal the European Communites Act 1972. Other European states do and so withdrawal for them would be much more complicated. From the Daily Mail pictures, I’m assuming that the campaign has already started to scare the ‘locals’ into some kind of change.

    I’m hoping that will happen quick, so that I can ditch the EU book and go onto to Contract Law. Much more satisfying!
    I’ll get back to my academic reading now, keep me updated on any new installments!