If they’d impose their stupid laws just on themselves, Darwinism would take care of it

Trader Joe's customer head home

Trader Joe’s customer heads home in his Swatch

I’ve reported on other studies that say the same thing, but God I love this stuff: reusable grocery bags infecting, even killing shoppers.

Abstract: 
Recently, many jurisdictions have implemented bans or imposed taxes upon plastic grocery bags on environmental grounds. San Francisco County was the first major US jurisdiction to enact such a regulation, implementing a ban in 2007. There is evidence, however, that reusable grocery bags, a common substitute for plastic bags, contain potentially harmful bacteria. We examine emergency room admissions related to these bacteria in the wake of the San Francisco ban. We find that ER visits spiked when the ban went into effect. Relative to other counties, ER admissions increase by at least one fourth, and deaths exhibit a similar increase.

Laws screwing up normal people’s lives are enacted by effete metrosexuals living in tiny, “sustainable” apartments, who walk to their Whole Foods in their Birkenstocks and pay $15 for a glass of wheat berry juice, then presume to prescribe rules for living for the rest of us. They do not buy in bulk because they don’t have four kids and they sure as hell don’t have a car large enough to carry home anything larger than a single roll of organic, recycled toilet paper.

Or they live in an Al Gore – sized mansion and send servants out to pick up their needs.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “If they’d impose their stupid laws just on themselves, Darwinism would take care of it

  1. Anonymous

    Your paragraph starting with “Laws” is one of the best I have ever read. Thank you.

  2. Add in amount of energy to create and deliver a reday to use cotton reusable grocery bag…10,000 times as much energy as plastic one……

  3. Martha

    I am all for freedom, and against anyone, especially the govt telling me what to do. But, I actually prefer reusable bags – you can get more in and they don’t break. Don’t people ever think to wash them? Do you touch a grocery cart and then fail to wash your hands?

    (In actuality, I prefer Fresh Direct)

  4. Peg

    Martha – I’m all for freedom, too. If you like the reusables and prefer using ‘em – you should! Those of us who lean toward plastic or paper should have the right to choose those. Ditto for Big Gulps, light bulbs, rare cheeseburgers, guns, big houses and big cars – and so on and so forth. “Free to Choose” as a guy far smarter than I said……

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_to_Choose

  5. Martha

    Totally agree, Peg

  6. nick

    Peg, Martha – I’ll drink to that, while it’s still legal

  7. SF

    I live in San Francisco and when plastic bags were banned a few years ago, people here had to start buying small plastic bags for things like trash can liners, recycling, and for picking up dog poop; things they reused plastic grocery bags for. Last Oct. 2012, San Francisco put a mandatory law in place requiring each and every business to charge customers $0.10 for a bag, paper or other. So, whether you get a bag at Safeway, Neiman Marcus, Walgreens, or any store, you pay 10 cents a bag! It’s outrageous. Am I supposed to carry bags around with me to hold a variety of purchases, from food to clothing to personal items?? And if I opt out of the bag purchase, how am I supposed to carry a grocery cart full of food home and up 2 flights of stairs? I had one store employee say to me in front of my 3 kids, when I told her I needed to purchase a bag to carry my purchases, “you kids need to teach mommy to be environmentally friendly..”.. WHAT? What does she know about me and whether I am environmentally friendly? This City is nuts.

  8. Balzac

    Right on, Chris. Somehow, in the self-referential world of the liberal, it is moral corruption to earn one’s bread by working for, or owning a piece of the fossil fuel industry, but Al Gore is still an environmental saint, after selling his cable network to the Qataris for about $100 million in oil money.