Anyone can get a law degree, it seems

So yesterday I posted on 14 Sound Beach Avenue and, because it is perched immediately on I-95, I suggested that it might be a little noisy.

Notwithstanding that caution, several readers commented that it seemed like a reasonable rental property investment and inquired about the current rent; the owner chose to take umbrage and posted her own comment:

Hi, I’m the current owner and an [sic] very experienced and well respected attorney. Chris, you have a lot of facts here that are flat out wrong. You may want to give me a call and correct this article 203-560-4477 or perhaps I can have some fun and get a ceast [sic] and desist on your website. There are also assumptions in this article that are just silly, not well thought out, and mean-spirited…..Next example – everyone knows in Greenwhich the “95-sound” travels down the block, not next to the house. As your bloggers note, there is huge opportunity here as the state is willing to sell the land behind (I had the right for a while, I can tell you know to do it). Thank goodness I have the best realtor that dealt with your meanness in an elegant way. I’ll be calling you to make the needed corrections ASAP.

Okay, I wasn’t particularly impressed, so I made a request of my own:

If there’s more than that “error”, feel free to add them here. But please, enough of the “I’m a well respected attorney and I’m going to sue you hrmmphh hrmmph” crap – you give the rest of us ambulance chasers a bad name.

Miss Barbara O’Shea, Clay, the owner of 14 Sound Beach has now taken to emailing me, thus:

I will be filing in court tomorrow unless the article is taken down or a MAJOR correction is posted immediately.

I just don’t understand the sloppy journalism and evil tone “grab your ear-muffs”.  What is wrong with you?  On second thought, you can explain it to the judge.

Do you even understand the liability you may have bought yourself – interference with a contract, etc.?

I’m just dumbfounded by the stupidity.  Forgive me for this second e-mail, but I re-read the garbage writing and article (garbage) and I just started to realize just how wrong it was …

I am so ready to take this to  court tomorrow.  Maybe you’ll think twice about doing this to people who can’t defend themselves.

Barbara Clay

Associate General Counsel

And now this:

Screen Shot 2013-02-05 at 3.23.10 PM

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Anyone can get a law degree, it seems

  1. Anonymous

    Why don’t you forward Babba Wawa’s email to the Pres or GC of Cirus and point out that she’s using company email to handle personal legal affairs and thus, I dunno, entangling Crius as well as likely violating company policy in that regard? An AGC would surely not be so flippant in disregarding company policy regarding use of corporate resources for personal legal matters, right?

    Oh and this one’s for Walt:

    Not only is she really good looking, but she’s got two (TWO!) degrees from Rutgers in addition to her JD from Pace.

    • Riverside Chick

      Was there a signed contact on the property? If you were interfering with a contact, wouldn’t it have to be signed by both parties then buyer backed out because of what you said. Quite hard to prove, quite a reach.

      • There is no signed contract – not even a buyer in sight – I fear Miss Clay’s knowledge of tort law is as deficient as her grasp of public relations and marketing.

  2. Barbara Clay, Attorney at Law

    Thanks for th egood looking comment. What Chris din’t post is he called me a slut. That is what gets me angry and calling the police. Which I have done.

    • Ah, excuse me???? Are you Joan of Ark? Hearing voices? And you’ve called the police to falsely attribute those noises between your ears to me? One of us may have a cause of action here, and it isn’t you.

      • Mark B.

        I was gonna mention that, in spite of her good looks, she’s also got that ‘thousand yard glare’ thing goin’ on.

  3. Demmerkrat Patriot

    http://www.internetlibrary.com/topics/online_defamation.cfm

    While I am not an attorney, perhaps one (such as yourself) might find an interesting precedent in the linked list above.

  4. Anonymous

    And he still hasn’t posted the corrections.

  5. Publius

    Mr. Fountain,

    Rest assured that your decision to leave the legal profession to pursue a career as a buyer’s agent was the right one.

  6. Anonymous

    She is one dumb bitch.

  7. anonymous

    “Ceast and desist?” I think I saw a puddy cat. I did! I did!

  8. Demmerkrat Patriot

    While the terms of service for wordpress.com attempt to remove all liability from the operator of the web site, they are still in California.

    Automattic, Inc.
    60 29th Street #343
    San Francisco, CA 94110-4929
    United States of America

    .If you operate a blog, comment on a blog, post material to the Website, post links on the Website, or otherwise make (or allow any third party to make) material available by means of the Website (any such material, “Content”), You are entirely responsible for the content of, and any harm resulting from, that Content.

    So you are on the hook for any issues … but what law have you broken?

  9. Anonymous

    I stand by the prior comment that Fountain’s new foe is by far the best looking he has previously, or likely ever will, encounter. Keep this up and you’ll attract more than 37 loyal readers.

  10. Anon

    Thank you for providing some of the msot entertaining reading I have had since reading The Affordable Care Act

  11. anonymous

    Someone should clue in Roop Bhueller about his goofball employee:

    http://www.criusenergy.com/management

  12. The Word

    How much for the right to sell popcorn in this thread? Gonna make a fortune!

  13. Anonymous

    We can all thank Al Gore for allowing us to read about this delightful exchange.

  14. Anonymous

    She is hot! I would hit it, crappy freeway house and all!

  15. Anonymous

    She was actually trying to write “Cease and dentist!” for reasons that we can only imagine.

  16. I mean, really?

    Holy cow. I forget to check the blog for a few days and I’m missing all this great stuff! Seriously, she is hilarious. That’s not a personality – that’s a diagnosis.