Coming our way

 

Paul Krugman, NYT:"In Britain, the government itself runs the hospitals and employs the doctors. We've all heard scare stories about how that works in practice; these stories are false."

Paul Krugman, NYT:
“In Britain, the government itself runs the hospitals and employs the doctors. We’ve all heard scare stories about how that works in practice; these stories are false.”

Woman lies in her own filth for two months as her government-supplied “carer” sweeps up around her.

A pensioner was left to lie in her own filth for weeks while a council-appointed carer cleaned around her.

Janet Norton, 72, lay immobilised on her sofa for two months with a back injury, yet the carer appears to have ignored her desperate condition.

Her shocked daughter Sharon Matthews discovered her mother at her south London home in December 2012 and alerted paramedics.

‘I had not seen mum and dad for three months and after a while I became suspicious because mum would never come to the phone.

‘When I discovered what happened I was shocked and disgusted. The smell was unbelievable and there were flies everywhere.

‘I called the ambulance and it took them two-and-half hours to get her out because she was in so much pain. They had to cut her clothes off because they were drenched in urine and faeces.’

The carer – who was given five days training before starting work with Care UK – has been suspended after an investigation was launched.

Both Care UK and Merton Council have apologised for a ‘service failure’.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Coming our way

  1. anon2

    Um, the daughter waited three months to be shocked that mom didn’t answer the phone? I’d arrest HER.

    • Governmental usurpation of all matters individual frees those individuals from responsibility.

      • Peg

        You are both correct. As someone who flies 4000 miles round trip every month to spend a week with her elderly parents, I CANNOT IMAGINE going this long without making sure parents were all right – especially if phone calls weren’t returned.

        And yes … so many horrific aspects of government takeover. One, however, is that people continue to lose their own abilities for responsibility and self-care. If you want a system put into force that destroys most of what is good about humans, then aim for government-everything.

  2. D

    apologized for a ‘service’ failure?!?!

  3. Pete

    “I had not seen mum and dad for three months…” So where was dad?

  4. Pete

    Sorry! I should have read the link before posting. Dad is apparently mentally impaired.

    • anon2

      All the more reason daughter should have had daily contact with her mother. What children do not speak with ailing and impaired parents for three months? Crazy.

  5. Anonymous

    Ha!

    You think that does not happen here, where the benevolent insurance companies and for profit health care look after our sick and elderly.

    I’ve got a bridge to sell you in Brooklyn, silly man

  6. None

    The UK’s “National Health” sucks, There’s no other way to put it. My Granda died waiting to get to a Dr.. By the time he did his Cancer was in-operable. Good luck America!

  7. iAnon

    I think some of the failure to stay connected comes from upward mobility, our desire to leave the small towns where several generations live near each other. We’ve been suckered into thinking that bigger is better, big town will provide more culture, more jobs, better schools, and maybe that’s so, but what it doesn’t provide is the stability of family, the connection of multi-generational knowledge and love. It’s too late for me but I now completely understand the contentment my parents and grandparents found on the farm in Kansas, with Auntie Em and Toto. They used to wonder why I needed so much more. What was it in city life and more money that was so valuable? My children aren’t any ‘better’ than I was. They have more things, but that’s about all. I got the best kind of education as a hick kid from the farm – life lessons, chores, grandpa teaching me to hunt and kill, grandma telling us stories of her pioneer mother and father. My kids know squat in comparison.

    • Peg

      I am going to commit Realtor heresy here. But – here goes.

      In 2013, even here in nowheres-ville Minnesota, most of the even more modest homes I sell are far grander and larger and have tons more bells and whistles than most of the homes in which I and my friends were raised. Of course, the bigger the price tag on homes, the more money dirt pushers like Chris and I make. Still… so often, I long for the days when kids spent more time with their families because their parents weren’t working 60+ hour weeks to pay for all those grown-up toys… and back when the odds of parents staying together were a bit higher than they are today.

      I love the gorgeous real estate just as much as the next guy. But I wonder what we’ve given up to have all these glorious things……….