Sales report

While I was out doing open houses (saw a couple I liked and I’ll write about them next week, once my own clients have seen them) six sales were reported. As you might expect, the lower end is doing just fine, the middle okay, and then there’s the higher stuff.

Going down?

Going down?

26 Mohawk Lane, for instance, was purchased new in 2008 for $7.5 million and sold today, some 1,000+ days after being put back on the market in 2009 for $6.8 and change, for $5.2 million. Five million two hundred thousand dollars is a lot of money; it is not, however, as much as seven million five hundred thousand.

21 Indian Head Road started at $4.7 million, ended at $3.750.

24 Meadow Rd, Riverside, started at $2.450 and sold for $1,932,200 (fun negotiations there, I’ll bet), which is a bit more than I’d thought it’d go for, but it’s a good street and the house, while  a little dated, is a perfectly fine one. Besides, what else is out there in it’s price range?

12 Stonebrook, Cos Cob, sold for $2.4 million ($2.695 start price) and 5 Arnold Street, Havemeyer, fetched $1.025 – it sold for $1.060 in 2010.

Accepted Offer: 26 Red Top Road, 1.5 acres in the R-1 zone, asking $2.995 million. Marketed as land, it comes with a good house on it.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sales report

  1. KMA

    I can’t believe how cheap 26 Mohawk sold. I wonder if there are wet lands and the useable acres are much smaller..say 1+ acre. Nonetheless, the backyard looks roomy enough and the house in great shape.

  2. Anonymous

    I’d rather get the 1.5acre, if I had $3mm, than a new construction on 0.3 acre around RS school. Just saying..

  3. OG

    I think the 1.5 acres went for low/mid 2’s.

    In Riverside.

    I think the Riverside hype is overblown.

    • Indian Head/Red Top’s a pretty piece of property and I’d think this lot in particular would support a high priced new home, so mid $2’s is probably just about right for the current market (one acre lots that were in my opinion less desirable sold for around $2 in 2010,2011).