A must-read review of Bernie Madoff’s Montauk love nest, now for sale by federal marshals

Dealbreaker’s Bess Levin, the funniest financial writer (I suppose that’s what she is) working today, has a take on Bernie’s Montauk digs that you really should read. Levin uses some salty language that I don’t often use on this blog (so that readers won’t identify me when they hear me in public), but if your delicate eyes can stand it, feast on this.


Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A must-read review of Bernie Madoff’s Montauk love nest, now for sale by federal marshals

  1. Anonymous

    For such a big scammer he sure lived like crap with that cropduster plane and a dumpy primary apt

    Prob could have maintained same low std of living by just running his legal stockbroker/marketmaker “business”

    But money, legally-earned or ill-gotten, never bought taste

  2. Pete

    Second the fact that Bess Levin of Dealbreaker.com is one of the funniest and insightful writers covering Wall Street these days.

  3. Old School Grump

    I wish the article came with more than the one picture (Let me know if I somehow missed a link to more.)

    Looks to me like the place is best described as … boring … or ordinary … or undistinguished.

    But … so what? Why is that a bad thing?

    If your house is 150 feet from the surf, it makes a lot of sense to furnish it casually with stuff you don’t care about and can easily replace. For that same reason, why get carried away with a lavish kitchen or bathrooms when the likelihood of damage to the structure is so high? Seems like common sense to me. Plus some of us prefer a beach house where tracking in sand is considered normal and the atmosphere is relaxed, rather than grand.

    I’m kinda intrigued that Bernie and Ruth kept a relatively unglamorous beach house along with their trophy houses and club memberships and yachts and other show-off possessions. Who knows, perhaps it was the one place they could feel “off duty” from maintaining the lies that made up most of their lives.

  4. Wally

    I think Walter Noel’s homes are much better fodder if our interest is beating up the greedy.