Daily Archives: September 4, 2009

“The difference between a senator and a congressman is the difference between chicken salad and chicken shit”

So said Lyndon Baines Johnson, and he should know. But despite the House of Representatives assuming the imperial trappings of their betters by ordering new fleets of Gulfstream jets for themselves and expanding their staffs ten-fold since LBJ’s day, they still act like the chicken shit they are. Here, for instance, is a wonderful video of a congressman in action.

Rep. Baron Hill (D., Ind.) putting a young constituent in her place:

Constituent: First of all, for journalism students, why can’t we film this? We have school projects, and I have just been taken aside and told that I can’t film this. I’m not disrupting, I’m keeping my opinions to myself, but now that I’m not getting to do this for a project, I was going to ask a question. I just–why can’t I film this? Isn’t this my right?

Hill: Well, this is my town-hall meeting, and I set the rules, and I’ve had these rules– [audience jeers]

Let me repeat that one more time! This is my town hall meeting for you [more jeering]. And you’re not going to tell me how to run my congressional office. Now, the reason for why I don’t allow filming is because usually the films that are done end up on YouTube in a compromising position.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Dilbert

 

Call me Mr. Green

Call me Mr. Green

 

Walt explains FGG's strategery

Walt explains FGG's strategery

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

One last contract before the weekend

14 Hope Farm Road. Purchased for $4.295 in 2004, listed at $5.395 in 2008, assessed at $3.459, under contract today at $3.555. If you’re travelling in Canada and run into a certain Riverside builder, tell him he’s a moron, from me. Thanks.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

AM radio a threat to their brain messages

Earth Liberation Front terrorists have destroyed two AM radio transmission towers,claiming that the waves interfered with messages due in from Mars. These are the same punks who spike logs in the hope of maiming sawmill workers, burn down car dealerships and toss bombs at the homes of scientists. The only thing amusing about them, if at all, is that they’re as befuddled and confused as Greenwich residents who scream about cellphone transmissions melting their infants’ baby bottles. Can you imagine the fate of alternating current were the Westinghouse brothers to try to introduce it today? We’d still be burning sperm oil to light our lamps.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

I didn’t mean it!

Yesterday the owner of 9 Lauder Way came to his senses, realized he hadn’t sold his house after years of trying and cut his price to $5.2 million. That’s still far above its assessed value of $3.6 million but it was certainly a good start, a start that ended today – he’s yanked it back up to $6.5 million – no one’s going to steal his house! What a yo-yo.

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Single family inventory, Labor Day Weekend

If history repeats itself, next week will see the start of Greenwich’s traditional fall selling season which should continue until two weeks before Thanksgiving. For the record and so we can gauge what happens, I’ve locked in the number of single family homes for sale on this late Friday afternoon as Labor Day looms: 672, vs. 561 this time in 2008 and 482 in 2007. Let’s see what happens.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

What’s a Riversville Road building lot worth?

614 Riversville Rd

614 Riversville Rd

Less than the owner of 614 Riversville once hoped. This corner (John Street) lot of four acres and an 1850 home started off on the market in April 2007 at $4.2 million. Today, eight price cuts later, it’s down to $2 million. Assessed at $2.12 million. Not bad.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized