Joe Biden – God love him – makes fun of Blumenthal’s “war record”

I do believe they’re members of the same party, aren’t they?

Vice President Joe Biden on Wednesday took an unexpected dig at Democratic Senate candidate Richard Blumenthal for misstating [uh, that should read, "lying about" - ED]  his military service record.

While speaking at a barbecue for wounded soldiers at Walter Reed Army Medical Center, he commented about veterans coming home from the Vietnam War. Biden, who has a penchant for being loquacious, veered into the Connecticut Senate race.

“I didn’t serve in Vietnam. I don’t want to make a Blumenthal mistake here,” he said according to a pool report. “Our attorney general from Connecticut, God love him.”

Later he said “I have a bad habit of saying exactly what I think.”

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Joe Biden – God love him – makes fun of Blumenthal’s “war record”

  1. boredatwork

    Many a true word spoken in jest!
    I like Biden – always good for a laugh every now and again.

  2. wb

    Dropping my subscription to the RSS feed. Came here for the real estate news, not the politics. Nothing is ever perfect. Obama is a huge improvement over what came before.

  3. JDinBkln

    I am probably in the minority here, but I really like Joe Biden. He’s refreshingly honest — sometimes that leads to foot-in-mouth situations, but that entertains me.

  4. I know a family in Wilmington, DE who knows the whole Biden family. He is what he is….honest and refreshing. He is a good man.

    Of course, according to this blog, he was scum when he blasted the beloved Bush and Cheney.-)

  5. boredatwork

    I meant what I said. I like Joe Biden. He says what he thinks, and provides a laugh every now and again. And the current President / VP are better than the previous ones, in my humble opinion, although I would hasten to add that almost anyone would have been better (except Sarah Palin).

    Getting back to Biden, he’s been the subject of numerous newspaper articles suggesting he’s an interesting character…

    http://www.theonion.com/articles/shirtless-biden-washes-trans-am-in-white-house-dri,2718/

    http://www.theonion.com/articles/biden-receives-lifetime-ban-from-dave-busters,17285/

    http://www.theonion.com/articles/walletless-biden-found-handcuffed-to-bedpost,6870/

    and so on.

    • What I’ve always hated about Biden, Bored, is that he is an intelligent guy. So I interpreted his anti-free trade stance, which he maintained during his entire Senate career, as a sell-out to the unions that supported him. I could (almost – well, not really) forgive George Wallace for his stupid racist rants because he was stupid, but as Biden droned on, over the years, against free trade, I always believed I was hearing a man who knew better, selling out. And that angered me.
      But he sure got Blumenthal right.

  6. boredatwork

    Are you saying that anyone who disagrees with you is either either dumb or a sellout? Intelligent people can arrive at different conclusions when faced with the same evidence, no? For the record, I am very pro-trade, and I think the world would be better off without unions, but I still like Biden. After all, that’s a sweet Trans-Am!

  7. boredatwork

    Anyway, all politicians are sellouts to some extent. I can’t stand the way they pander to whomever they feel they need to pander to – abortion rights activists, abortion opponents, environmental groups, anti-environmental groups, and of course the NRA – how’s the varmint shooting going, Mitt Romney? :)