Daily Archives: September 16, 2010

It’s a cute story, but you might not like it if you’re a litigant

What's a 103-year-old man smell like? Depends!

NYT: 103-year-old judge hopes to leave courtroom “feet first”. I never had occasion to appear before this Mid-Western judge but I did spend a month trying a case before another ancient federal judge, in his late nineties, up in Waterbury, Connecticut. Just before trial I called a friend, a former U.S. Attorney, and asked about the judge. “Oh, he died years ago,” my friend assured me. “He may be dead” said I, “but he’s hearing my case”.

And so he did. The old doddering fool slept through the entire trial, only occasionally interrupting the proceedings by firing blistering clouds of noisy flatulence, and after (sort of) hearing our side of the case, listened to perhaps five minutes of the defendant’s presentation before interrupting the attorney and asking, “who the hell are you?” After a month of trial, after both sides had filed post-trial briefs, the judge recused himself because he couldn’t understand the case.

So, in my opinion, life-time appointments for federal judges aren’t necessarily a great idea.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Dodged this one

Storm, possible tornado slams NYC. 30 miles away, yet who knew?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Fireman injured in Cos Cob

He’s okay, but it’s a reminder of the risks our paid and volunteer firefighters (and police ) willingly expose themselves to. Thank you all.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Finally, I can agree with our President

Obama: race between Blumenthal and McMahon a “no brainer”.

UPDATE: Can’t the President of the United States hire a speech writer who can keep his or her metaphors straight?

Obama said Republicans are trying to exploit the fear and anger among many Americans to win in November, but said they are responsible for losing four million jobs before he took office and “driving the economy into a ditch.”

“As soon as we took office we put on our boots, we climbed down into the ditch — it was muddy down there, it was dusty, bugs — and we’re pushing on the car, trying to get it out, slipping and sliding,” Obama said to laughs. “And the whole time the Republicans are standing there, sipping on a Slurpee, just watching us, saying `you’re not pushing hard enough. You’re not pushing the right way.’”

You can have mud, you can have dust: you can’t have both.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Kids caught in swastika incident

Four fifteen-year-olds. I’m with First Selectman Tesei on this one, who describes it as an act of “blatant stupidity”. Having been guilty of that same condition at fifteen, I’m sympathetic, within reason. I’m glad the police found the kids because no resident should have to fear that there are enemies out there, but I hope education, rather than strict punishment, is applied. I (dimly) remember being 15, and I know that my brain wasn’t fully functioning at that age.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Black Helicopters!

5:45 PM – military helicopters overhead here in Riverside – Obama must be coming! Welcome to town, Sir. And please go home to Chicago soon. Michelle hates it down there in Washington.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Idiot sellers

The WSJ reports that the owners of a Rhinebeck, NY estate (where Chelsea Clinton was just married) fired their real estate agent, listed it themselves and raised the price to $13.5 million even though it wouldn’t sell at $12. For some perverse reason that strategy failed so now it’s going to be auctioned: minimum bid, $7.5 million.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Blumenthal blows 40 point lead

Poll says Connecticut senate race now a toss-up. To know him is to despise him, I guess.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Pathetic

Three weeks into the Pay Czar’s reign, Gulf residents miss BP. I can hardly wait for ObamaCare.

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

Rich Meehan on the Petit trial

Greenwich Time runs this attorney’s column every once in awhile; I wish he’d write more often because, while I’m certain we disagree on politics, his defense of defense lawyers and civil rights, etc., is outstanding. He’s an excellent read.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Food fight at the P&Z!

You want pasta with that withdrawal? (Bob Luckey photo, Greenwich Time)

P&Z turns down application to convert Bella Nonna into a bank, 3-2. It shouldn’t take nearly three years to decide this kind of issue, especially when, as I believe, the decision was wrong. Fudrucker voted for the bank and I can assure you that the package of cash delivered to our offices yesterday played no part in his decision – he just wanted the convenience of an ATM a block from his home.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Jim Himes

I was stuck in a doctor’s waiting room this morning while Ma was being attended to (she’s fine) and came across an old interview of Jim Himes in Greenwich Magazine (no link, but maybe April’s issue?). I still can’t say I’ll vote for the man this November but in view of my many disparaging remarks about him the past, I feel compelled to admit that he comes across as a rather bright fellow with good intentions. We all know about good intentions, of course  but ….

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Nevada is screwed

One in eighty-four homes in Nevada received a foreclosure notice last month! (bad link before – sorry) Elsewhere around the country, foreclosures are at an all-time high but experts say the banks are still holding off in an effort to manage their inventory of bad loans.

Wow! Another link from the Professor! It’s way cool that Professor Reynolds reads this blog. I got into all this on 9/11/01 when, desperate for news, I discovered InstaPundit and became glued to it. Glenn Reynolds linked to a huge array of news sources, was cool under fire, and his own predictions have proved, nine years on, uncannily accurate. In, I think, 2002, Reynolds and other pioneering bloggers held a seminar on blogging at Yale Law School and I attended simply from a desire to stimulate my mind after a year of selling real estate. I met great people, and the seed was planted. Funny world.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Obama? Never heard of him

POTUS appearing in Stamford and Greenwich today, while Congressman Jim Himes hides in Washington.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized