Meet U in Chinatown?

Mmmn good!

 I’ve been  trying to use the poll feature via WordPress, but can’t quite get it going, so let’s use a more primitive approach: Is there any interest out there in heading to Chinatown? If so, when? This weekend? Next weekend? Three weeks from now? And having established a date, where should we meet?

I think  it would be cool, and I have three seats in my own car to provide free passage. But a true Chinatown buffet should have a whole bunch of dishes that all can share. Do we have a dozen folks out there who want to try this out? Let me know.

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Meet U in Chinatown?

  1. George W. Crossman

    Good time to go. I think Chinese New Year is coming up. Maybe gone.

  2. I’d go anywhere to share a plate with you. But at the moment, my travel radius is 500 ft from Gideon’s office. So that would make it Hunan Gourmet at 68 West Putnam, Greenwich. http://www.greenwichhunan.com

    Travel Blackout makes only 1/11 to 1/18 available.

    Disclosure: New Owner, Johnnie Cheug, is a client. But there you go.

    Asiana Cafe is an option too. http://www.asianacafe.com/

  3. pulled up in OG

    . . . or the taco truck on Apache Place? : )

  4. sevencycles

    Yeah good if you are a snake, yummy

  5. I’m game but how about a weeknight in/around Greenwich/Bedford? Weekends are tough for alot of people with families. Going into the city might make for too long a time commitment for some. If it’s local, those who want to come for only an appetizer can, and not feel badly. Others can hang out and gab.

    The city idea would be fun but I’m not sure how practical.

  6. Cobra

    Depending on other commitments, and depending on date, I’ll likely be able to join you, Chris, and will bring that book I promised you!

    Just name the date.

  7. Pete

    If you decide on Hunan Gourmet, ditto Cobra without the book.

  8. Old Coot

    So this isn’t in Chinatown in the People’s Republic of San Francisco? Cause I coulda joined you if it was. East Coast? I’ll need a raincheck.

  9. Georgie in Greenwich

    If in Greenwich….count me in, too.

  10. Walt

    Dude Man -
    Count me in. I love Buddha food!! Want me to pick a place? Can I ride shotgun in your car? And after we have a cat food feast, can we go to an “I ruv you rong time” place? That always tops off the trip. A happy ending to a fine day! Great idea for once, you load. You bringing Ms. McBeal? I have some questions I would like to ask her. Plus see if her fun bags are as big as they look!
    Let me know.
    Your Pal,
    Walt

  11. Shoeless

    Wife and I would be interested in a weeknight get-together as well.

  12. Peg

    Gee; I suppose I could tag along if I could have a sleepover at EOS’s ranch….. ;-)

  13. Peg, would love to meet you and have you stay with us. There are flights from MSP non-stop to HPN.

    As it is snowing here, I was thinking this meal should be in Montecito and Inagua can take us all to Mollies! OK?

  14. sound beacher

    Let us know the details and we’ll try and make it, would be very interesting to meet, face to face,– on second thought…..

  15. Peg

    EOS – be careful what you wish for! I might just show up on your doorstep!

    Actually, I was in Westchester a couple of years ago to photograph our “team trials” (selection of the team that represents the U.S. in bridge competition.) I shoulda gotten Christopher to organize this then!

  16. Okay CF – time to set a date.

    Thursday 1/13/2011 6 to 9 pm works for me.

    Shall I call Johnnie Cheung and ask him for the big “Happy Family”?

  17. The Duke of Deception

    “Forget it Jake, it’s Chinatown”.
    The Duke loves that movie.

    FWIW, the Duke thinks the best Asian food around here is at Ching’s Table in New Canaan.

  18. I hate to sound bougie but we have some time constraints if I am to participate in this meet and greet …we’re off for Florida soon, then gone all February to New Zealand and Tasmania. What can I say, such is the life of peripatetic sybarites. :-)

  19. armonk

    I’m in.

  20. The Duke of Deception

    EOSR-

    The Duke had peripatetic sybaritis but he took some penicillin and it went away.

    Good luck.

  21. Duke: Our doctor prescribed a once-monthly AMEX bill. He thought seeing that should cure us instantly!!

  22. Duke PS: we eat at Ching’s Table ALL the time. I could live on the mini Thai spring rolls and the Vietnamese salad. Their website is down which made me wonder if they are having trouble. Do you know anything?