Daily Archives: February 14, 2011

Some kids are so stupid that enforced eugenics is really the only solution

Teen-aged burglars loot house, kill the family goldfish because “they didn’t want to leave any witnesses”.


Filed under Uncategorized

Heh – here was a memory

WFUV (90.7 FM) just played “Goodlovin” by the Rascals, circa 1966. The band was known as “The Young Rascals” back then, and dressed in goofy costumes involving floppy bow ties and knickers. I used to occasionally help out at “The Sound”, a teen dance held weekly at what was then Eckman and is now the Eastern Civic Center (it was in far better shape back then). Anyway, we booked this unheard-of band for all of $650. They absolutely rocked and the next week, when Goodlovin was released, it shot up the charts. The boys ditched the “Young” part of their title, dumped the knicker look, and the day of hiring the band for less than a thousand bucks was gone forever. I was lucky to have been there.


Filed under Uncategorized

Would lack of cellphone service affect your decision to buy a house?

According to this article, most buyers don’t care. I guess if I were a buyer, it wouldn’t be a determinative factor either, but I’m not sure. We have pretty good service coverage here in Greenwich, but living in a dead spot would be a pain. And it’s a difficult thing for an agent to warn about because where, say, my AT&T might be dead, your Verizon might come in just fine. Probably worth checking your phone bars when at a house you’re looking at.


Filed under Uncategorized

Too bad

I see that one of the two building lots on “Silk Road” (Sachem, to you and me) in Cos Cob has sold, for $650,000. A developer bought the beautiful old house on this land some years ago and subdivided it. When the lots didn’t sell, I was hopeful that someone would reunite them with the house, but I guess not.


Filed under Uncategorized

Here’s a decent price reduction

19 Ivanhoe Lane, off of North Street, sold for $2.875 back in May, 2006. Today it’s been reduced to $2.595. It’s a 1900 former carriage house, renovated in 1999, well removed from the street and as I remember, a very nice home. Convenient location, too.


Filed under Uncategorized

A contract!

 14 Stillman Lane, new construction in Glenville, is under contract, presumably somewhere below its original asking price of $4.875 million and perhaps below its last ask of $4.495. I confess that the desirability of this entire development project escapes me but that’s just me – if the land was good enough for the Rockefellers to buy, who am I to question? After all, my family eschewed buying land in Manhattan in the 1640s, choosing instead to establish farms in Brooklyn and Staten Island. The Rockefellers weren’t that dumb.


Filed under Uncategorized

In Greenwich you are free to ignore the market

 99 Lower Cross Road listed at $6.8 million a year ago just sold, finally, for $3.3. In some towns, agents are accused of “buying” listings by placing totally absurd valuations on properties simply to convince the seller to list with them. Fortunately in Greenwich, that never happens.


Filed under Uncategorized