A Riverside landmark comes on the market

25 Oval

25 Oval Avenue has been listed for sale at $1.875 million and held its first open house today. Riverside residents have marvelled for years at this house’s unique exterior, so unexpected in the land of Colonials and Tudors, but I know no one who’s been inside, until now. It’s quite elegant, with mahogany doors and a modern kitchen, but a little cramped for space, with just three bedrooms upstairs and none below. It’s obvious that the owners redid this space to suit their needs and tastes and I applaud them for it. But reselling it will probably be more problematic than if it were a more conventional house.

No one in Riverside had ever seen a house like this here and I doubt they will again. And, while I can’t blame my friend Bill Lapcevic’s fatal heart attack on the mere existence of this house, he did live next door, and was rather loud in his objection to its appearance. When I’d call him at home and address him as Sir Lancelot he grew positively testy, in fact. In any event, it’s available for your purchase now. Those of you worried that your house number is too small to be readily seen from the street by our EMS or other rescue services can relax in this home, secure in the knowledge that no house number will be required to recognize where you live. That’s an opportunity.

Howdah Duty?

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “A Riverside landmark comes on the market

  1. Anon21

    Is there room for jousting in the front yard?

  2. Maxene Smith

    Wonderful..

  3. anonymous

    Scrape…

  4. OGborn

    Wow, Disneyland! Actually, I would almost expect to walk into the 80s set of Silver Spoons with little Ricky Schroeder driving by on his room-sized train. Curious as to where the owners came from before they landed in Riverside.

  5. Real Torme

    Forsooth, there are also two first floor bedrooms.

  6. Riverside

    There is a very interesting (and – dare I say – well done), much larger version of this house on Loch Lane in Greenwich. Shockingly, it is actually somehow attractive. Been under construction for years!

  7. Cos Cobber

    If I were to live in Riverside, this seems like the appropriate home for me. All that is missing is a moat and drawbridge.

  8. Cos Cobber

    I encourage the lords of this castle to speak of their kingdom.

    Tell us, what is the history of this fortification?

    Please share harrowing tales of battle fought at your manse.

    Is this Cobra’s childhood home?

    Who sells a castle anyway?

    We need answers CF!

    • It was a rather traditional house until purchased by the present owner in the 90′s and transformed. I was told back then that the guy was a Pakistani who came out from the City weekends. Today I heard he was Indian and owns a string of restaurants. That’s all I know and I don’t even know that!

  9. Cos Cobber

    I’m starting to obsess of this ‘castle for the people.’

    Where is the cannon and armory room? I toured the photos, it was conspicuously absent.

    PS – Cobra is the only one in town qualified to list this fortification.

  10. Cos Cobber

    Huh, so this fortification has nothing to do with the French and Indian war? Nothing to do with General Putnam? Had no role with Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo? Ulysses S. Grant did never got wasted here? Nothing to do with guarding our coast against Nazi subs during WWII? Nothing to do with Cobra’s lust for Armageddon? I’m deeply disappointed, but hopeful we hear otherwise directly from the current active duty CO for this keystone installation.

  11. anonymous

    The neighbors should all band together to buy it and tear it down.

  12. AJ

    Do they sell little square hamburgers?

  13. Anonymous

    The owners wanted a drive up for White Castle, but the Town rejected it

  14. Anonymous

    It is I, Arthur, son of Uther Pendragon, from the castle of Camelot. King of the Britons, defeater of the Saxons, Sovereign of all England!

    I don’t want to talk to you no more, you empty headed animal food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.