Daily Archives: December 27, 2012

Not every house in Old Greenwich finds multiple bidders

3 Vista

3 Vista

3 Vista Drive reports an accepted offer, last asking price of $3.495 million. The owners paid $3.845 for it in 2007 and put some money into it but it still has the original windows and needs other work as well. This style of home is out of favor these days and I suspect it’s not coming back. Still, Vista’s a great street and I’m old enough to appreciate this house. I’ll guess closing price will be $3.175 to $3.250.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Year end sales

Five reported, from a 1949 steel ranch in Cos Cob for $725,000 to a bidding war on Ford Lane, Old Greenwich, that closed at $5.6 million.

58 North Street sold for $3.170 million (asked $3.795) and that seems just about right. An 1888 home, right on North and with its yard chopped off and sold years ago, but a real charmer. I liked it very much and so did my clients but they decided it “was too large”, a refreshing attitude for Greenwich buyers. They’ll be building new around the corner.

127 Havemeyer Place sold for $1.5 million which had to be a sale hastened by the hot breath of a lender blowing on the developer’s neck. Bought in 2007 for $1.2 million, far more than $300,000 went into this total renovation so in-town developers beware: things aren’t improving here, yet.

39 Willow Road in Riverside, however, shows that Riverside (and Old Greenwich – see next paragraph) are flourishing. This house might fairly be considered a pure land sale, whether the buyers stay in it or not. $2,477,300, which is better than its asked-for price of $2.950, but really – really?

7 Ford Lane

7 Ford Lane

7 Ford Lane, Old Greenwich, sold new for $4.450 million in 2003, asked $5.450 this time around and went immediately for $5.6 million. it’s perched high above the water which means Hurricane Sandy left it unaffected. Got a rubber boat to get in and out and you’re set.

And then we have that steel ranch house at 4 Cedar Lane in Cos Cob, $725,000. Don’t know what exact form that steel was shaped in but being Cos Cob, the new owner will probably beat it into (snow) plowshares. And good for him.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Back to real estate

With apologies to visiting readers, this blog is usually at least partially devoted to Greenwich real estate and while trashing local wannabe journalists is fun, I have a living to make. In fact, I owe an apology to the regular readers, most of whom probably don’t give a rat’s ass about gun rights and the Second Amendment.

So here’s some real estate news. Those of you from out of town might find it amusing to see how little you get for how much in this town.

Three sales reported yesterday, 51 Old Stone Bridge, $1.325 million, 2 Parsonage Rd, $3.450 and 23 Pond Place, Cos Cob, $770,000.

Old Stone Bridge was rented out for most of this past year so if it was purchased by the renters and that rent was credited against its sales price, the $1.325 figure shouldn’t cause other Old Stone property owners undue alarm. If not, you’re all in trouble up there.

2 Parsonage

2 Parsonage

2 Parsonage selling for $3.450 sounds about right, even though its owners must have been disappointed. They paid $3,684,375 million for this in 2008 and, I’m told, poured several hundred thousand more into improvements (though it was a new house – go figure). Noisy corner lot on two busy streets.

23 Pond Place

23 Pond Place

23 Pond Place asked $899,999, got $770,000 when the owners got real.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Okay, enough, I want my blog back

Being an accidental celebrity isn’t all that much fun, actually, and I miss quiet little For What It’s Worth and its loyal corp of readers. I simply can’t keep up with 500 comments at a time and while I’m sure there are thoughtful insights in many of them it’s all buried in the avalanche.

So  I’ve turned off the comments on the older posts, or I’ve tried to, anyway, and will find something else to write about, mostly. I really don’t want to be the Charlton Heston of gun bloggers, although it was briefly amusing.

Comments Off

Filed under Uncategorized

At Walt’s request, a weather report

Greenwich Avenue

Greenwich Avenue

Sleet, turned to rain. I blame Bush.

Heading into the lion’s den now at CNN, where I’ll be on at 6:10 and, assuming I feel I’ve been treated fairly, again at 8:35. Why would I agree to go on and be made to look a fool? Hubris, I suppose, and a Pollyannaish idea that people might listen to reason on this issue.

What the hell, I’ve made a fool of myself in front of juries before, so I know that it’s easy and doesn’t really hurt.

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized