Daily Archives: May 26, 2008

Thanks for your comments
lots of you have written in support and I appreciate your words greatly. My poor Internet guru is temporarily out of action due to a motorcycle accident ( I knew I made the right decision to sell mine in 1972) but I hope to have a real web site up and running in 2 weeks. In the meantime, here’s my response to an inquiry about the weight to give to the town’s assessment of a home’s value: it depends. Some of these assessments are spot on; others miss by a mile. Some years ago, my own house was grossly over-assessed because the out-of-town appraisors considered all waterfront, tidal creeks to Belle Haven, to be of equal value. Don’t tell them so, but I think they’ve over corrected and I’m now valued at less than a modest home on Perry Ridge. So use the assessment as one datum, not the sole determinative of value.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Memorial Day Parade in Old Greenwich
10: 00 am. Last vestige of small town America in this town, and a chance to thank our soldiers. Don’t miss it.

Comments Off on

Filed under Uncategorized

We’re on Mars!
pretty nifty. I stand in awe of people who can shoot a rocket 400 million miles into space, land it safely and begin exploring.

But as for another use of our tax dollars…
the New York Times reports today that states are chafing at having to spend anti-terrorism funds on, ah, anti-terrorism. Rhode Island, for instance, was outraged that the heavy truck it purchased to pull a horse trailor was initially denied funding (the state prevailed, naturally, after intervention by its pols). We taxpayers are paying $23 billion for this program-if the states don’t need the money, why not end it? Silly question, I know.

Comments Off on

Filed under Uncategorized