An aging population of real estate agents

According to this article, the ranks of real estate agents were split evenly in 2000 between agents over and under 40. Now, we geriatrics outnumber the kids by 2:1. So, ya wanna buy a house, you’re probably stuck with someone your parent’s age. That’s not so bad – most of my peers bring a lot of experience from other careers into their practice. I certainly think my years as a young businessman and, later, twenty years of lawyering, helps me in this gig. But, as the article points out, a lot of the codgers don’t know, and don’t want to know, what’s happening in modern technology. They’ll be weeded out pretty soon, though.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “An aging population of real estate agents

  1. pulled up in OG

    Just stock up on the air freshener, clients in the back seat will appreciate it.

    “A former real estate agent drove with the partially mummified body of a homeless woman in the passenger seat of her car for several months.”

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/39796763/ns/us_news-life/

  2. Earth Ocean Sky Redux

    While I choose age and experience every time, I agree that old dogs needs to learn new tricks.
    Lesson One: Don’t print an email address on your business card if you don’t know how to retrieve mail.
    Lesson Two: Don’t carry a Blackberry if you don’t know how to text, BBM, or find voice mail messages.
    Lesson Three: Don’t ask to snail me a brochure.
    Lesson Four: Don’t have a website that you leave with a 2008 “Brand New” Listing.

    If I owned a large branded firm, like Raveis, etc., I’d train my older agents in the ways of the internet/cellular world. I want my agent to be thoroughly modern millie (or mickey).