Indeed I shall

LuLu's Anal Bleaching for Kids - really?

LuLu’s Anal Bleaching for Kids – really?

Brother Anthony sends along this story, with the notation, “I think this is something you should share with your readers.”

Lulu’s  Cuts & Toys Hair Salon is the victim of a terrible prank.

A person who controls a wifi near the “combination hair salon and toy store on the increasingly stylish Fifth Avenue strip of Park Slope” called LuLu’s has given his or her network a positively vulgar name. It is a name that threatens to sully the posh and sophisticated reputation of a shop that charges $26 to give your child a new lease on life via his or her tresses ($10 for just a bangs job). It is a name that is not good for kids. On the Google Group bergenbtwn4and5, LuLu’s owner Brigitte Prat shares the story of how her brand is being attacked (probably by a high person who thought it would be funny to satirize the presumed bourgieness of the children’s salon):

PLEASE HELP! Unfortunately someone near by has named their WiFi a really awful name referring to my shops, “LuLu’s Anal Bleaching for Kids”. I’ve tried calling Time Warner and Verizon and they can’t seem to help. I have reached out to the 78th Precinct and my lawyer, but they can’t help either because I don’t know who it is. You can see the Network from both of my establishments, you can see it on your smart phone from my stores, my house, or standing in front of 417 & 426 Bergen Street as well as across the street. This is really disturbing and I’m lost to what to do without knowing who it is. Any other ideas on how to handle this? Brigitte

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Indeed I shall

  1. Al Dente

    I don’t think it’s a big deal. Now, if they did banal leaching, that would be something to get upset about.

  2. Streisand Effect meets Marketing 101.

    speaking of kids, this one would do well to avoid any public school system with a zero tolerance policy:

  3. Greenwich Gal

    Boy, Al Dente, if they did in fact do “banal leaching” I would hire them immediately. The world would be a much better place.

  4. That’s pretty funny. With the right software on a laptop you could figure out where the router or access point that was broadcasting that SSID (network name) was located in a few minutes.

  5. Does Walt have an apartment there ?

  6. Artie

    I was at a barber shop a couple of towns over and was patiently waiting for my turn. Thumbed through the old magazines and decided to check on the WSJ app to see what was going on. I got the option to connect to wifi, and dismissed it without giving it much thought. Was given the option again, and took the time to read my options, as there were several. The first option was, “BIG BLACK COCK”. I started to laugh a little to myself thinking that was an interesting way to keep people off of your wifi. When it was my turn in the chair, I asked the owner if they jumped on the wifi a lot, and she had no idea what I was talking about. I showed her the wifi options and she started laughing hysterically. At least she got the joke. Of course, it also wasn’t referring to her business. Gives new meaning to the term “jumping on wifi”…